Powered by TurnTo
2.9 / 5.0
29 Reviews
5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Star
6
4
6
7
6
Rated 5 out of 5
Kitty door
It's a good little door. The magnet is a little strong, but other than that I really like it. Very simple to install.
August 22, 2020
Originally posted at
Rated 5 out of 5
Petsafe Door
Excellent product. Replaced an older door that lasted about 10 years.
June 10, 2019
Originally posted at
Rated 5 out of 5
Quality
Reliable quality. Have purchased several and they have been consistently good. Fast shipping.
October 9, 2018
Originally posted at
Rated 5 out of 5
So quiet now.
Not sure what took us so long to change doggie doors, but the last ones we had were so loud when the dogs would come in and out of the house this one is so quiet, love it. Our dogs run through them like they are invisible and we have 2 doggie doors.
Customer Service is fantastic, always always have been such a great help through the years.
September 8, 2015
Originally posted at
Rated 5 out of 5
5 years of trouble free operation
We have quite a few dogs over the years and 5 years ago we decided to try a doggie door. I was skeptical our dogs would use it but I am pleasantly surprised as to how good it is and how much they use it. Our smallest dog takes one piece of kibble at a time and takes it outside, through the doggie door, to eat it. Each meal time it is hilarious to hear the flap magnet click and clack back and forth many times while she eats her meal. Sometimes she just stands outside with her head peeking in through the door while she watches our other dog eat his meal. When he finishes she starts in on hers and the back and forth routine. The door was easy to install performance is exceeding my expectations.
August 30, 2014
Originally posted at
Rated 5 out of 5
Great door
I had this door installed in the medium size for my cat and small dog. It works great. Because of the thickness of the wall we bought two of these, one for the inside going out and the other for the outside coming in. My son, who did the installation, built a little wall structure between the two doors. It doubled the price but is well worth it. We've had it for about 7 months now and even in sub zero temperatures very little cold air comes in. I anticipate we will need to replace the plastic from time to time but that looks easy enough. Yes, I think our energy bill will be improved. Our animals were wanting to be in and out all the time. It's certainly saved on my energy of not having to get up and open and close the door all the time!
January 9, 2014
Originally posted at
Rated 4 out of 5
Good Solution
I bought this door 2 1/2 yrs ago for my 2 Scotties and it has been a huge help. We coyotes in the area so before I added a covered kennel and this door for access to the yard, my poor babies were stuck inside all day. Now they can safely go out to a section of their yard any time they want. Only thing that could be better is the flap which after a year or so started to look a little off color and doesn't always close as tightly as it used to.
January 12, 2019
Originally posted at
Rated 4 out of 5
LASTED LONGER THAN EXPECTED
We bought the medium size for our front door over 8 years ago. While it the flap is very lightweight and wind can blow it open, it has stood up to a very active beagle and two dogs that weighed over 65 lbs. We are buying a new one as it is well worth it. I would recommend if you don't have a lot of money to spend but want a door that lasts long enough.
April 2, 2018
Originally posted at
Rated 4 out of 5
More difficult to install on 3/8 inch storm doors
I was replacing an existing pet safe door that lasted about 3.5 years. The door I was replacing was one of the doors that came built into the storm door I got from Lowes. The flap was well past the time of replacement and my dog was pushing the limits of getting through the door, so I decided to buy an XL door to replace it.
The instructional video was good and since I already had a hole to begin with, I only had to make this one bigger.
The instructions of the sheet were a little small (you guys might want to invest in a bigger font for us with glasses).
The only challenges that I had were in the removing of metal (as per the instructions) to support a 3/8 inch thick door.
Once I removed the metal (using piers as the instructions say) I now have a sharp (unpainted) edge that is exposed to the dogs.
I had a sharpening stone that I used to file down the edges, then I used some vinyl shelf paper to wrap the edge. (It would be nice if pet safe included some type of edging (tape or something) to take care of this.
The project took about 4 hours from the time it took to remove the door until the time I put it back up and clean up.

The unit itself (brand new) is sealing fine, It's currently raining and windy, but we are not feeling it. I haven't' changed out any hardware. I'll post again in a few months to let you know how it holds up.
January 4, 2015
Originally posted at
Rated 4 out of 5
Good door with some work
Having read reviews about the flap slipping with pet use. What I did when I installed 2 of these doors was to replace the wimpy screws that hold the flap in place with 8/32 screws, washers and locking nuts. I had to drill out the holes in the frame,flap and holding brecket for the flap. I also doubled up the flap on the the door that is outside for added wind protection (as the company suggested). They have been up for 3 months and there has been no slippage on the doors. They are still working without any issues. We have a house with 6 cats who use the door frequently. You could get out of the drilling with use of smaller screws to bolt it together I just had this size at home. If petsafe used better screws to hold the flap or a better/thicker flap bracket this would not be an issue for the door. But it was a simple fix to make them an outstanding product without the major problem that many have complained about in the reviews. I would buy this product again
September 7, 2014
Originally posted at