Powered by TurnTo
3.2 / 5.0
58 Reviews
5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Star
18
11
8
9
12
Rated 5 out of 5
Works perfect for German Shepherds in NEK
We bought the house with this PetSafe Extreme Weather Pet Door installed and are extremely happy with it. Our dogs learned to use this freedom very quickly. Worked perfect even in the coldest Vermont winter days and nights, not letting the weather in. I recommend this product!
June 19, 2020
Originally posted at
Rated 5 out of 5
great features
I really liked the sturdiness and extra weather protection flaps
This review was collected as part of a promotion
August 2, 2019
Originally posted at
Rated 5 out of 5
Exceptional.
Bought a large regular door 3 years ago. Has been hammered buy 3 60ish lb. Dogs ever since. The summers are hot and the winters are brutal. I needed more protection from wind, cold ect. My wall is 14inches thick, so it's not standard installation. My dog door hole is very exact. I bought extreme door large. It was exactly the same size. The insulated side and interior door were all one piece. I used my own screws because of choice and non standard wall. Never even had to go outside to install. Can still use my existing outer flap and now have a spare. Everything fit perfectly. The doors are realistic. Functional day in and season out. The owners obviously have dogs and know what thease doors have to put up with. My thanks and gratitude.
March 3, 2019
Originally posted at
Rated 5 out of 5
9 year old Petsafe Extreme Weather Dog Door
We purchased a back door with a Petsafe Extreme Weather Dog Door. The only problem we had was our then puppy Bella loved to eat the magnets off the bottom of the flaps! Eventually we had to get replacement flaps and we cracked the top of the frame over screwing the screws. None of our flaps have ever fallen or bowed outward. I just ordered a complete Extreme Weather Dog Door including the frame. We ordered a large which was the extra large. After reading some of the problems others have had I'm still glad we ordered from Petsafe!!!
October 9, 2018
Originally posted at
Rated 5 out of 5
works great!
This is my second Extreme Weather door. It worked great in Montana, so I purchased an identical one when moving to Illinois. I am shocked to read of all the negative reviews. I have just one issue...…...the cover. My cockapoo has learned to pry off the cover when he really wants to get out (something exciting going on outside. I wish there were an alternate cover I could get because I am replacing my house doors and will need to purchase a new pet door.
October 2, 2018
Originally posted at
Rated 5 out of 5
We've used this door for 5 years - still great
We have used this doggie door for 5 years, but only seasonally. We have a slide-in Petsafe door in our sliding door, and I built a 'tunnel' out of 2x4s -about 2' long - and mounted the Extreme Weather door on the end. We're in N. Illinois and the wind pushes the door open and rain was coming in - the 'airlock' keeps all that rain and snow out! Now we are moving to Wisconsin and are mounting it in an exterior wall so they can have the same freedom. I'm going to reverse the airlock and put the double-layer door in the exterior wall, and a single-layer door at the end of the airlock. The only thing I wish is that the Extreme Weather door had a slide-in cover or locking cover option - it won't take long for the raccoons to figure out if they push hard they can get into the house. Hopefully the dogs will keep that from happening.
July 21, 2018
Originally posted at
Rated 5 out of 5
Much better than most!!
I purchased normal doors for Montana life only to find Alaska winds can blow them open and really ruin your day!! Then I found this weather door and it is 100% better. However, I designed mine into a cabinet door! It fits within reason and I have the original door plus another so it's a tunnel. Pro: I'm not heating the outside and dogs love the freedom! Con: small dogs or cats struggle with the weight of the door but most can still use it. 2nd problem is that giant breeds using this steadily will cause an issue with the hinges and ripping the flaps off.
May 25, 2018
Originally posted at
Rated 5 out of 5
great dog door
I've had this door for about 5 years and have been extremely pleased with it. My two larger dogs (Golden Retrievers) and my 10 pound Poodle mix use it without any difficulty whatsoever. I don't remember any problems with the installation of the door either, except that I made it more difficult by not taking the door off the hinges.
December 17, 2017
Originally posted at
Rated 5 out of 5
Worked fine in Minnesota for nearly 5 years
The only complaint I really have are the plastic screws. Galvanized screws weather just fine and should be used. My dogs took a few try's to figure out how to use it, but just help them if they need it. As for the yellow flap that someone complained about looks wise, it's in the middle. You can't really see it. Overall, a decent door that my 2 labs have used for years. I suggest you occasionally clean it, magnets will not work as well if real dirty.
November 13, 2017
Originally posted at
Rated 5 out of 5
Excellent Product!
I use to live in Albany NY. I bought this and installed it in my wall by my back door for my 3 Pitbulls ranging from 50lbs to 90lbs. Not only did they love it, we did also. The yellow winter flap attaches to the inside of one of the flaps. Well I choice to buy a second yellow winter flap and attached it to the other flap too. No matter how cold it got outside, cold air NEVER came in. It worked so well that I times we forgot it was there and we would leave it unsecured all night long while we slept.

-----
The cover that covers it up we used on the inside of the home. The way its designed, it hooks on the two sides of the frame. No matter how hard you push to pop it open from the outside it only grabs the frame harder preventing it from coming off. Because it's on the warm side it never got cold and never broke from the weather it worked flawlessly. Others that claim it breaks off or comes off easily with a push of the head from thier dog, must not have it installed correctly. If installed right... and the inside frame isnt secured extremely tight. It will lock on and stay on.
-----

Now after living our whole lives in NY. And having the dog door installed for the last 4 years without issues. We decided about a month ago to move to Arizona. So now I'll be buying a second one for my home in Arizona. To keep the cold air in and the heat out. I know it wi work just as good as the one I bought while living in extreme cold in New York did.

THANKS PETSAFE
February 11, 2017
Originally posted at