Powered by TurnTo
4.1 / 5.0
41 Reviews
5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Star
28
2
2
4
5
Rated 5 out of 5
Stubborn in ground fence
Great system! Works for our stubborn dog. So happy that he now stays inside our yard.
May 24, 2021
Originally posted at
Rated 5 out of 5
Best Money ever spent!
Its SO easy to just let our guy out. He LOVES the outdoors and this gives us confidence to let him out for longer periods of time.
December 22, 2020
Originally posted at
Rated 5 out of 5
Love this!
Re-purchased this product. Our home had a power surge and we needed to replace it. Best purchase I have every made for my pets. Highly recommend this product.
March 4, 2019
Originally posted at
Rated 5 out of 5
Great Product ONCE INSTALLED!
I needed to contain my adult black lab in my 1 1/2-acre yard in the middle of a working pasture in the country, but fronting a very busy highway. I had previously borrowed a wireless system (which worked for him), but it did not give him the space to roam as the wired system would. Pet Safe has such great videos which show just how easy it is to install the "wired" system, so that is what I ordered for my large yard. I am a DIY type of person, so this all seemed like something I could tackle alone (58-yr old woman). Not quite as easy as it looked, so some notes that I wish to pass along: 1) It will be easier and a LOT faster if you have a second person helping. I did not. 2) Rent a real Trencher of some type. If you can afford the system, it will be well worth the rental cost at Lowe's or Home Depot. (I know this after 8 grueling days of labor getting the wire in a trench made with an "edger." I also had to manually dig a larger trench for a 75 ft span where I needed the wire inside PVC pipe and hose to protect it from cows and vehicles crossing it on my two driveway entrances/cattle gaps. We also have heavy clay soil & the heat index was about 104 degrees.) 3) Realize in planning that if you feel the need to use conduit in places to protect the wire for long term success, that it is probably not feasible to begin the process at the location where you will have the transmitter inside. I did foresee this dilemma. I ended up having to cut my conduit into about 6 to 8 ft segments because the wire would eventually hang up as I fed it through the conduit. I used electrical tape to reconnect the conduit pieces together after the wire was all the way through my 75' span. This is also the point where a second person would be at one end with the spool of wire, while you are feeding it, to avoid kinks forming in that end of the wire. I had to go back and forth. If you consider unrolling an entire 500 ft spool before you begin, you will definitely have all sorts of tangles in your wire because it wants to stay curled up as you are many feet away trying to feed it through the conduit. If I had begun at the transmitter point, I would have had to unroll an entire 500 ft roll of wire to do this. 4) Because of the previous points made, order extra splice materials. They really are great, and I could have just cut my wire into shorter segments (i.e. one 75' piece stretched out for above problem) and then spliced to continue on. I only had the 2 original splices and would have had to wait days more to get some ordered. I used 1300 ft of wire. 5) No matter how large your yard is, and if you only use an edger (but please take my advice and rent something better), and if you are no longer as able-bodied as you once were, find one of those little rolling garden carts that allow you to sit and inch along as you place the wire inside that very small trench (that will have grass roots, etc. hanging over it and inside it. I ended up in the doctor's office after this installation. 6) Recognize with a large yard that it will take some time to close your trench back up once the wire is installed. I still have not finished that process. I also feel that that would have been easier if I had rented the proper equipment to do this job. 7) PLAN, PLAN, PLAN before you begin. I did do that and knew where my obstacles were. I simply did not know how physically difficult the process would be because the online videos made it look so easy. Now that I am mostly finished, I am THOUROUGHLY SATISFIED with the product. Please find a helper before you begin, but Good Luck with that. *** I have only been using the collar for a week now, so do not have a long-term opinion about that yet. But I will probably order an extra one just in case.
September 29, 2018
Originally posted at
Rated 5 out of 5
Easy to set up and use
I got this to keep my overgrown puppy in my yard, Its the best! It took a couple slight zaps before he realized his safe area but it was a great buy! We can let him out when we are home without the collar on and he still stays in the safe zone.
September 16, 2018
Originally posted at
Rated 5 out of 5
Great Life for Our Dogs
Have used this same product for 7 yrs. Our big dogs enjoy 2acres of pure freedom - have never once tried to break out or had other dogs try to enter. Our elec fence is hanging on a 3-board fence around our property and our dogs stop at ten ft from perimeter fence. For 30 yrs previously, in another location, we tried to keep up with same breed digging out or jumping over kennel fences and property line fences. Constant battle and burden. Pet Safe Elec Fence instantly improved our dogs’ lives and our lives 100%! Will always use this product in future.
September 4, 2018
Originally posted at
Rated 5 out of 5
Love it!
I have had this product for 10+ years....It has been a crucial part of having dogs. I wanted to write this review so that people would know that this product has lasted me so long without any troubles. The best money I have ever spent! I have a five acre section for my dogs. This has been through 3 pit bulls, a chow & now a chocolate lab (3 dogs at one time). I have had no issues with this fabulous product! I will point out that it is not intended to protect your pets from other animals so please still watch them. When I am home, my dogs run free~ when I am away they are safe in a 20x20 kennel or the house. Nothing beats letting your dogs out to do their business on a cold rainy/snowy day while I watch from the warm comfort of my window! Like I said, it has been 10+ years & just this morning I have a break in the loop (Somewhere). I ordered the boundary wire break locator & I am anxiously waiting to see how it works. I thought I would cut my losses and just run a new line since it is so old (transmitter still works great!) but even if I run a new line, I WILL ALWAYS HAVE THIS PRODUCT so I don't mind the small investment buying the break locator! It has proven itself to be the best investment I have made for my dogs! 10 years for approx $200~ U cant beat that! Not to mention customer service is awesome! Thank you Pet safe for giving me & my dogs freedom!
August 29, 2017
Originally posted at
Rated 5 out of 5
I LOVE THIS PRODUCT
I recommend this product to anyone I talk to that has the same problems I do with their dog running away. We have woods in my backyard that my dogs just love to run in but it isn't our property. Ever since I bought this product it has changed my life. I had to leash or kennel my dogs every time I let them out and its just a hassle because I can not play with them but now my dogs can run free without a leash and be happy. I don't have to worry about leashing them before opening the door, I just put their collars on right when they come out of their cages and let them out, no more going outside in the winter freezing just to hook the leash. I have had mine for a few years now and it still works just as well as when I bought it brand new. It is a bit of a hassle to bury the line but we rented a special machine that will bury it for you and it took us 1 day to do and I used all 500ft of the wire provided. They have a huge area to run around in and I can keep them out of certain places I don't want them to be in. The vibration option is great because I have an old dog and the higher intensity is great because I have a persistent, very spirited dog. It works for both of them wonderfully! It took no time for them to learn where they can and can't go! Great product! Great buy and is lasting wonderfully!
February 21, 2017
Originally posted at
Rated 5 out of 5
Simple but very effective at keeping my juvenile delinquent dog in the yard
Product was very easy to install. It only took a few hours to zip tie the wire around an almost a half acre backyard. Few minutes to install the transmitter in the house and program the collar and it was ready to go. Installed it on an existing wire fence that my young rescue had started climbing after I filled in all the holes she had dug under various spots to escape. From a distance she resembles a longer haired coyote so I was worried someone would take a shot at her in the rural area I live. Since I installed the fence and got the collar on her she hasn't escaped and is safely inside the backyard. I didn't even have to do a lot of training with her. Fist day the fence and collar were active she ran towards the fence and tried the boundary twice in the space of a couple of minutes and she hasn't gotten near it since. Only have the collar on setting 2 and its definitely working on keeping her safe in the confines of the yard.
February 2, 2017
Originally posted at
Rated 5 out of 5
Works great, easy set up!
We set aside a weekend to put in the fence and start training our dog. Two hours after we began we had it up and running! The hardest part was running the wire into the house since we put the transmitter in our basement, but even that only took maybe a half an hour with two of us. The collar was easy to change levels of intensity for training. We have a 6 month old goldendoodle who knew basic commands when we put the fence in. On day one I walked him around the yard and showed him the boundaries with just the vibration level on the collar. I did that about three times around the yard going towards the boundary about every 10 feet. The next day I added the static correction and adjusted it to a point that worked for him. That happened to be the third level. Later that day I had let him out without supervision and he's done great since. We have a third of an acre and had enough wire to do a circle around our entire yard and run it to the house. Great alternative to paying someone else to do the job! Highly recommended!
January 11, 2016
Originally posted at